7th Grade Math

Welcome to 7th Grade Math!

Our mixed ability groupings in the middle grades provide high expectations for all, with support for those who need it.  It is important to build a strong foundation in mathematics in middle school, where we emphasize conceptual understanding, procedural fluency, and application of the mathematics students have learned. Our curriculum enables each student to develop deep mathematical understanding and opportunities to competently apply math concepts and skills in a variety of school, home, and outside settings.  Throughout the middle school experience, students will begin developing proficiency in precise mathematical communication, honing skills in both verbal and written mathematical presentation. Students will be challenged by sophisticated mathematical ideas as they move through our program and will develop perseverance, and the ability to reason, prove, and justify.
Data Science I
Our Data Science I course builds upon the mathematical and problem-solving skills taught in grade level classes while encouraging students to reason with, interact with, and think critically about data in many forms. Students actively explore the intersection of math with the real world and other subjects while studying data sets, working with spreadsheets, studying measures of central tendency, and manipulating data to "tell a story." Students deepen their understanding of bivariate data around themes of social justice while exploring both self-collected and large, publicly available data sets.



Cluster

Teacher

Email Address

1

Rachael Silver

Rachael_Silver@needham.k12.ma.us

2

Jack Baker

Jack_Baker@needham.k12.ma.us

3

Ashley Baughman

Ashley_Baughman@needham.k12.ma.us

4

Toni Fisher

Toni_Fisher@needham.k12.ma.us

5

Vincent Marino

Vincent_Marino@needham.k12.ma.us


Mathematics Support Class Grades 7 & 8

Teacher

Email Address

Holly Pacis

Holly_Pacis@needham.k12.ma.us



Data Science I

Teacher

Email Address

Tammy Ghizzoni

Tammy_Ghizzoni@needham.k12.ma.us

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.