8th Grade Math

Welcome to 8th Grade Math!

Our mixed ability groupings in the middle grades provide high expectations for all, with support for those who need it.  It is important to build a strong foundation in mathematics in middle school, where we emphasize conceptual understanding, procedural fluency, and application of the mathematics students have learned. Our curriculum enables each student to develop deep mathematical understanding and opportunities to competently apply math concepts and skills in a variety of school, home, and outside settings.  Throughout the middle school experience, students will begin developing proficiency in precise mathematical communication, honing skills in both verbal and written mathematical presentation. Students will be challenged by sophisticated mathematical ideas as they move through our program and will develop perseverance, and the ability to reason, prove, and justify.


Data Science I and II
Our Data Science courses build upon the mathematical and problem-solving skills taught in grade level classes while encouraging students to reason with, interact with, and think critically about data in many forms. Students actively explore the intersection of math with the real world and other subjects while studying data sets, working with spreadsheets, studying measures of central tendency, and manipulating data to "tell a story." Students deepen their understanding of bivariate data around themes of social justice while exploring both self-collected and large, publicly available data sets. By the end of Data Science II, students extend their studies to linear regression and exploring confounding variables and their effects on data results.


 

Cluster

Teacher

Email Address

1

Emily Burns

Emily_Burns@needham.k12.ma.us

2

Tricia Anderson

Tricia_Anderson@needham.k12.ma.us

3

Jessica Honeyman

Jessica_Honeyman@needham.k12.ma.us

4

Emily Rosenthal

Emily_Rosenthal@needham.k12.ma.us

4 Sarah Burns
Sarah Burns@needham.k12.ma.us

5

Megan Krueger

Megan_Krueger@needham.k12.ma.us



Mathematics Support Class Grades 7 & 8

Teacher

Email Address

Holly Pacis

Holly_Pacis@needham.k12.ma.us


Data Science I & II

Teacher

Email Address

Sarah Burns

Sarah_Burns@needham.k12.ma.us






Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.