Science Department

Welcome to the Science Department!

It is increasingly important for all students to develop a firm understanding of scientific methods, content and skills.  We aim to provide all students with the content and skill set for viewing their world and communicating solutions as they make informed decisions about their environment, use and production of resources, and development of systems and products that will best serve the world's changing societies.  Through a variety of lab investigations, and experiments, case studies, inquiry opportunities, class discussions and presentations, students will better understand the integrated nature of STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) fields. 

Earth and Space, Life and Physical Sciences, as well as Technology and Engineering principles, are continually integrated throughout sixth, seventh and eights grades.  An emphasis is placed on relating the various principles, practices and concepts to real life and multiregional experiences.  Development of effective communication (reading, writing, speaking and listening), problem solving, laboratory techniques and study skills are important objectives of the science program.  The integrated, spiraled approach of the curriculum ensures that students develop a strong science foundation, and the regularly referenced Science and Engineering Practices ensures that students develop and apply the skills for approaching new challenges and decisions with a scientific mindset and framework.

This, in accordance with the new standards, students in each grade have ample opportunity to:
• Ask questions and define problems
• Develop and use models
• Plan and carry out investigations
• Analyze and interpret data
• Use mathematical and computational thinking
• Construct explanations and design solutions
• Engage in argument from evidence
• Obtain, evaluate and communicate information

 Photo of Mark Healey Mark Healey
Science Coordinator, 6-8
mark_healey@needham.k12.ma.us 

Grade 7

Cluster

Teacher

Email Address

1

David Gundaker

david_gundaker@needham.k12.ma.us

2

Sam Jekowsky

samuel_jekowsky@needham.k12.ma.us

3

Monique Bale

monique_bale@needham.k12.ma.us

4

Maryellen Shea

maryellen_shea@needham.k12.ma.us

5

Elissa Strauss

elissa_strauss@needham.k12.ma.us


Grade 8

Cluster

Teacher

Email Address

1

Nicole Piatelli

nicole_piatelli@needham.k12.ma.us

2

Brook Hoffman

brook_hoffman@needham.k12.ma.us

3

Mark Nolan

mark_nolan@needham.k12.ma.us

4

Erica Beaton

erica_beaton@needham.k12.ma.us

5

Nathaniel Marcum

nathaniel_marcum@needham.k12.ma.us


Engineering & Design

Teacher

Email Address

Dan Cournoyer

dan_cournoyer@needham.k12.ma.us

Kelly Robinson

kelly_robinson@needham.k12.ma.us

Mark Healey

mark_healey@needham.k12.ma.us

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.